Christ online

10 mayors of Albay join Vice-President Sara’s Lakas-CMD

Ten mayors from the province of Albay have joined Vice-President Sara Duterte’s Lakas-Christian Muslim Democrats (Lakas-CMD) party.

A statement released by House Appropriations Committee Chairman Elizaldy Co, of the Ako-Bicol party slate, said 10 of Albay’s 15 municipal mayors were sworn in as new members of Lakas-CMD before party president and Speaker of the Chamber, Ferdinand Martin Romualdez, on Wednesday, November 9.

The mayors who have been sworn in as members of Lakas-CMD are Adrian Salceda (Polangui); Paul Garcia (Guinobatan); Wilfredo Maronilla (Libon); Sharon Escoto (Oas); Alan Arandia (Pio Duran); Carlos Irwin Baldo Jr. (Camalig); Carlwyn Baldo (Daraga); Dick Galicia (Rapu Rapu); and Joseling Aguas (Santo Domingo).

“The mayors, representing 10 of Albay’s 15 municipalities, have sworn allegiance to the ruling party and pledged to support its plans and programs,” the statement said.

The new party members also include several town and city councillors, namely Roberto Lucila (City of Legazpi); Luis Gutierrez (City of Legazpi); Sunshine Imperial (Legazpi town); and Caroline Ziga-So (Tabaco City), as well as Albay Provincial Council members Jesus Salceda Jr., Juan Miguel Salceda, Dante Arandia, Victor Ziga Jr., Melissa Abadeza, Eva Lopez Ribaya, Reynaldo Bragais and Glenda Ong Bongao .

Romualdez told new party members that President Ferdinand Marcos Jr., his cousin, was happy the mayors had joined Lakas-CMD.

Only Duterte holds a national position among party members, while 60 members hold seats in the House of Representatives.

Duterte, the president of Lakas-CMD, placed second in the vice-presidential race in Albay last May, garnering more than 144,000 votes. Former Senator Francis Pangilinan received at least 444,000 votes to take the top spot. —VBL, GMA Integrated News