Christ cross

Breaking down the changes to the WPIAL 2022-23 cross-country roster


Tuesday, July 5, 2022 | 11:15 a.m.

The WPIAL has released new section rosters for the next two-year cycle across all sports, and the changes will be implemented starting this fall.

This summer, the Tribune-Review will break down the changes for each of the WPIAL sports.

Here is a preview of the next WPIAL cross-country season:

2021 WPIAL Championships


Class 3A Tag Team Champion: North Allegheny

Class 3A Individual Champion: CJ Singleton, Butler, 16:26.3

Class 2A Tag Team Champion: Hampton

Class 2A Individual Champion: Ryan Pajak, Ringgold, 16:58.9

Class A Tag Team Champion: Riverview

Class A Individual Champion: Sean Aiken, Eden Christian Academy, 17:09.3


Class 3A Tag Team Champion: North Allegheny

Class 3A Individual Champion: Mia Cochran, Moon, 18:18.6

Class 2A team champion: Montour

Class 2A Individual Champion: Jolena Quarzo, Brownsville, 19:04.1

Class A Tag Team Champion: OLSH

Class A Individual Champion: Corinn Brewer, Greensburg CC, 21:17.8

Notable changes

The WPIAL teams are again divided into two divisions, mainly divided by geography. Division I has six sections and Division II has five.

Sectional Championships will be awarded at the end of the regular season, and teams will then compete in the WPIAL Championships based on entry in three classifications (3A, 2A, A).

Several teams will be in different classes for the next two-year cycle.

On the boys’ side, Latrobe, Albert Gallatin, Connellsville, Chartiers Valley, Kiski Area, Woodland Hills and West Allegheny have been upgraded from Class 3A to 2A. Ligonier Valley, McGuffey and Burrell went from 2A to A. Mars went from 2A to 3A and Beaver Falls went from A to 2A.

On the girls side, West Allegheny and Woodland Hills went from 3A to 2A, and Ligonier Valley, Ellwood City and South Allegheny went from 2A to A. Thomas Jefferson went from 2A to 3A and Beaver Falls went from A to 2A .

Among the major section changes, Indiana and Franklin Regional swapped sections, with FR moving to Section 4 and Indiana moving to Section 1 with a large group of Westmoreland County teams in Division I.

Also in Division I, Moon and Chartiers Valley swapped places in Sections 5 and 6.

Hampton moved up to Division II and will compete in Section 4, where he will join three teams coming out of Section 2: Aquinas Academy, Avonworth and North Catholic, along with remnants Burrell, Deer Lakes, Freeport, Highlands, Knoch, Riverview and Shady Side Academy.

The WPIAL Championships will once again take place at the Roadman Course in Cal, Pennsylvania on October 27.

The top four teams from Class A and the top three from Classes 3A and 2A qualify for the state championships. For Individuals, the top 20 finishers outside of Class A team qualifiers and the top 15 in Class 3A and 2A qualify for the PIAA competition.

New teams

Rochester, Hillel Academy and Calvary Chapel will field WPIAL Class A cross-country teams this fall.

Key dates

August 15: First training date

August 20: First scrimmage date

August 26: First game date

September 13: Date of the first section

October 27: WPIAL Championships

November 5: PIAA Championships

2022-23 roster

Division I (52 teams)

• Section 1: Derry, Indiana*, Greensburg Salem, Hempfield, Latrobe, Ligonier Valley, Norwin, Penn-Trafford, Yough

• Section 2: Albert Gallatin, Connellsville, Elizabeth Forward, Laurel Highlands, McKeesport, Ringgold, Thomas Jefferson, Uniontown, West Mifflin

• Section 3: Butler, Central Catholic/Oakland Catholic, Mars, North Allegheny, North Hills, Pine-Richland, Seneca Valley, Shaler

• Section 4: Armstrong, Fox Chapel, Franklin Regional, Gateway, Kiski Area, Penn Hills, Plum, Woodland Hills

• Section 5: Ambridge, Beaver, Blackhawk*, Central Valley, Chartiers Valley, Hopewell, Montour, New Castle, West Allegheny

• Section 6: Baldwin, Bethel Park, Canon-McMillan, Moon, Mt. Lebanon, Peters Township, South Fayette, Trinity, Upper St. Clair

Division II (54 teams)

• Section 1: Beaver Falls, Ellwood City, Freedom, Laurel, Mohawk, Neshannock, New Brighton, Riverside, Rochester, Shenango, Union

• Section 2: Bishop Canevin, Brentwood, Carlynton, Eden Christian Academy, Hillel Academy, Northgate, OLSH, Quaker Valley, Redeemer Lutheran/Ellis School, Sewickley Academy, Winchester Thurston

• Section 3: Avella, Burgettstown, Chartiers-Houston, Fort Cherry, Keystone Oaks, McGuffey, Seton LaSalle, South Side, Washington, Waynesburg Central, West Greene

• Section 4: Aquinas Academy, Avonworth, Burrell, Deer Lakes, Freeport, Hampton, Highlands, Knoch, North Catholic, Riverview, Shady Side Academy

• Section 5: Belle Vernon, Brownsville, California, Calvary Chapel, Greensburg CC, Serra Catholic, South Allegheny, South Park, Southmoreland, Steel Valley

*Cooperative sponsorship

Bill Hartlep is the sports editor of the Tribune-Review. You can contact Bill at or via Twitter @BHartlep_Trib.