Christ online

Golden Glove winners are announced; Nido beaten

Brad Penner – USA TODAY Sports

Major League Baseball announced the winners of the 2022 Rawlings Gold Glove Award on Tuesday.

National League

In the National League, there were two teams in which two players received the award: the Atlanta Braves and the St. Louis Cardinals.

Brave players included pitcher Max fried and shortstop Dansby Swanson.

The Cardinals, on the other hand, had a third baseman Nolan Arenado and utility drive Brendan Donovan. earn rewards.

Other players to receive Gold Gloves include Philadelphia Phillies wide receiver JT RealmutoArizona Diamondbacks first baseman christian walkerColorado Rockies second baseman Brendan RodgersChicago Cubs left fielder Ian HappSan Diego Padres center back Trent Grishamand right fielder for the Los Angeles Dodgers Mookie Bets.

As stated above, Realmuto won the National League receivers award. Mets Seeker Thomas Nido was also a finalist. As Analytical Meals underlined (via BaseballPro), Nido placed first in framing runs, second in blocking runs, second in throwing runs, and first in total field runs. He was beaten for the Gold Glove by Realmuto who placed third in framing runs, first in blocking runs, fourteenth in throwing runs and third in total runs in the field. The only category here where he beats Nido is throwing. There was certainly an argument he should have won the prize.

Nido was the only Met nominated as a finalist. Francisco Lindor, Brandon Nimmo and Jeff McNeil were all snubbed in their respective categories.

American League

In the American League, the Cleveland Guardians, New York Yankees and Houston Astros each won the award by multiple players.

The Guardians walked away with four Gold Glovers: launcher Shane Biber, second baseman Andres Gimenez, left fielder Steven Kwanand center fielder Myles Straw.

The New York Yankees have had two players who have won a Gold Glove: catcher Jose Trevino and utility outfielder DJ LeMahieu. The Houston Astros also had two players who won the award: Shortstop, Jeremy Pena and right fielder Kyle Tucker.

Blue Jays first baseman Vladimir Guerrero and third baseman for the Baltimore Orioles Ramon Urias completed the AL award winners.

On the other hand, Peña is the first rookie shortstop to win a Gold Glove and the first Astros rookie to also win a Gold Glove. Former met Andres Gimenez was also named the Golden Glove winner.